Friday 26 April 2019


GenresPunk / Rock / Noise Rock / Hardcore / Post-Hardcore / Metallic Hardcore / Metalcore
Related artists: 300hz, Anchorless, No Light, Rising, Total HeelsBeautiful Burning World and Tvivler.
Years Active1999-2008
Song: "Achilles And The Tortoise"
Album: "Blues Moderne: Danois Explosifs"
Year: 2001
For fans ofSince By Man, The Bled, Forstella Ford, Cadence Fox, Dangers!, Colored Moth, Millions Of Them, Officer Jones And His Patrol Car Problems, Fall Of Troy, In Reverent Fear, JR Ewing, IEatHeartAttacks, Yage, Training For Utopia, Secret Arms, Ken Mode, Remote, The Jonbenét and (early) Codeseven.
Label(s): Self Released / EarthWaterSky Connection / Nova Recordings / Scene Police / Get Off Records / Futhermocker / Said In Jest / Undergroove / Riptide Recordings / Play/Rec / 
This post's artist is from the April 2019 Mix. This is track #1.
You can download: the April 2019 Mix#4 right here or get the new May 2019 Mix#5 here.

One of my friends turned me on to LACK a few months back and I was smitten...with the release I was told to check out. The chaotic, crushing whirlwind that is 'Blues Moderne: Danois Explosifs' would be blasphemous to not have on this blog, but the later material I didn't really enjoy all that much.

LACK released a self titled cdr and 7" in 1999 that I have yet to hear. In 2001 they released ma deep jam, 'Blues Moderne: Danois Explosifs' and that's pretty much all I'm gonna talk about here, although I did enjoy what I heard from 2002's 'Sisyphus' EP but didn't find a download so meh. Anyhoos, back the the LP. Opener "Zur Genealogie Des Modernen Menschen" bounces a riff around for a bit before the vocals meet up 19 seconds in and the band lurches forward boasting some seriously adventurous, dancey and pummeling metallic/chaotic hardcore. "Pessimistic Poetry" begins as rabid and ferocious as anything you'll hear in 2019 and is, simply put, a rager. You want a song to check out as an introductory tune? Well look no further than fucking "Achilles and the Tortoise" because that shit is straight-up ridic. Let's take a quick run-through: 25 seconds = huge palm-mute breakdown, 39 seconds = even faster/dancier breakdown, 55 seconds = Since By Man guitars/vocals/everything...and that's just the first goddamned minute.

I don't feel the need to continue, as the opening, aforementioned three tracks are worth your time, as are the remaining 7. Peruse the rest of their discography to see if it's for you.



1999 - Lack cdr/7"EP

2001 - Blues Moderne:  Danois Explosifs cd/12"LP (stream/donate/download here)

2002 - Sisyphus 7"EP

2005 - Be There Pulse cd/12"LP

2006 - Lack 7"

2007 - Beta Satan split 7"

2008 - Saturate Every Atom cd/12"LP

(2001) LACK - "Achilles and the Tortoise" (from 'Blues Moderne:  Danois Explosifs')

(2001) LACK - "Zur Genealogie Des Modernen Menschen" (from 'Blues Moderne:  Danois Explosifs')

(2001) LACK - "Pessimistic Poetry" (from 'Blues Moderne:  Danois Explosifs')

(2002) LACK - "Solipsist Letter To The World" (from 'Blues Moderne:  Danois Explosifs') live video

(2002) LACK - "My First Death" (from 'Sisyphus')

(2002) LACK - "Build On Sand" (from 'Sisyphus')

(2005) LACK - "5'o'clock in the Evening" (from 'Be There Pulse') official music video

(2008) LACK - "Bombing the Moon" (from 'Saturate Every Atom') official music video

No comments:

Post a Comment