Thursday 29 September 2016


GenresPunk / Hardcore / Post-Hardcore / Metal / Doom / Crust / Sludge / Thrash
Related artists?.
CountryLille FRANCE
Years Active2013-present
Song: "Mountain Snakes"
Album: "Coffin Cutters"
Year: 2016
For fans ofLamantide, Swarm Of The LotusLavotchkin, Litany For The Whale, Birch, The Minor Times, Lentic Waters, Perth Express, Virginia On Duty, The Assistant, The Armed, Furnace, Llynch, Botch, Creeper, I Am A Curse, Storm{o}, Takaru, Engineer, Nine Eleven, AmenRa, Achilles, Ken Mode and Boak.
Label(s): IFB Records / Dingleberry Records / Mosh Potatoes / Rubaiyat Records / Eastrain Rec / 59SRS / Rakkerpak Records / Rip Roaring Shit Storm Records / Icore Produzioni / Cheap Talks Records / Insonnia Lunare Records / Longrail Records
This post's artist is from the September 2016 Mix. This is track #2.
You can download: the September 2016 Mix#9 right here or get the new October 2016 Mix#10 here.

This was supposed to be an exclusive premiere, but BARQUE posted the song a few weeks back so this is just a discography review. But what a discography! Errrr...should I say, what a new EP! 'Coffin Cutters' is a dark and heavy trip through sludgy, doomy post-hardcore/post-metal. It opens with the punishing riffs of "Path of the Hierophant" which is a crushing Ken Mode and Lamantide cross of oppressive, angry everything. When 1:42 hits I feel like I'm listening to something much akin to Lentic Waters, as they tie together the post-hardcore guitars with back and forth screaming which is the highlight of the song, and quite possibly the album. "Betrayed Monarch" is next, again taking no time to build foundations and instead trampling the listener right off the bat. At 36 seconds the song gets pretty fucking heavy and reminds me of Converge and Rorcal with the latter half getting a little more chill (just a little) with nods to I Am A Curse whether intentional or not. Track three, which was the song that was technically premiered August 1st, 2016 on the blog mix here, is called "Mountain Snakes" and is a shorter track at 2:17. The song descends into the depths of hell just before the one-minute mark but is able to balance it with enough slabs of subtle melodies that it is both pummeling and head-bob worthy simultaneously. "Absalom" takes the cake for the shortest, angriest and fastest song on here, so at 1:17 just take a listen for yourself. The closer "Torments" eclipses the five-minute mark and is a banger with a tapered ending that devolves into atmospheric noise.

In 2014 the band released a single song digitally called "The Necromancer" was certainly a window into which you could see the direction of the band's future. The song is driving, unrelenting and heavy, with more of an AmenRa feel than the later material, although the song doesn't even hit the two-minute mark.

I definitely expect big things from this band, as this is a stellar debut EP. Keep it up, fellas.



2014 - The Necromancer digital single (stream/donate/download here)

2016 - Coffin Cutters EP (stream/buy here)

(2016) BARQUE - "Path of the Hierophant" (from 'Coffin Cutters')

(2016) BARQUE - "Mountain Snakes" (from 'Coffin Cutters') live video

(2016) BARQUE - "Betrayed Monarch" (from 'Coffin Cutters')

(2016) BARQUE - "Absalom" (from 'Coffin Cutters')

(2014) BARQUE - "The Necromancer" (from 'The Necromancer')


BARQUE additional links


No comments:

Post a Comment